Description: Tomb House
Date Listed: 7 December 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 286403
OS Grid Reference: TM2836263239
OS Grid Coordinates: 628362, 263239
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2200, 1.3418
Explore more of the area around Framlingham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 26 SE FRAMLINGHAM STATION ROAD
4/125 Tomb House (formerly
listed as Thomas Mills'
A Mausoleum enclosing the combs of Thomas Mills and his 'faithful servant'
William Mayhew. Early C19. Brick and stucco, with rustication to the quoins
and a flat, lead-covered roof. A 2-light window to the front, and a single-
light window on each side, all in Tudor style, with hoodmoulds, pointed arches
and spandrels. The lights have very small leaded panes behind wire netting.
At the rear is a doorway with a similar surround and boarded door. A black
marble tablet below the window on the front is inscribed: 'In memory of Thomas
Mills (who died Jany. 13th,1703). Founder of the adjoining Almshouses, and
Donor of several Estates to charitable uses, Also his faithful Servant William
Mayhew.' Inside the Tomb House is a table monument with the following
inscription on a black marble slab: 'Here Lyeth Interred the Body of THOMAS
MILLS, late of Framlingham, in the County of Suffolk, who Departed this Life
January the 13th Anno Dom. 1703, in the Eightieth year of his Age. Who Gave
an Almshouse, & other Large Gifts to the Town of Framlingham & to six other
Towns where his Estate lay.' William Mayhew, who died in 1713, lies buried on
the north side of the tomb under a stone slab flush with the floor.
Listing NGR: TM2836263239
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.