Description: Gull Farmhouse
Date Listed: 15 August 1988
English Heritage Building ID: 286470
OS Grid Reference: TM2629455497
OS Grid Coordinates: 626294, 255497
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1514, 1.3064
Explore more of the area around Dallinghoo, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
DALLINGHOO THE GULL
TM 25 NE
- Gull Farmhouse
House, formerly farmhouse. Late C16/early C17 with C18 and C20 additions.
Timber-framed with stucco colourwashed render and a pantile roof,
originally thatched. Two storeys. Three-cell plan, added to, creating a
4-cell plan. Road front: early C20 porch at left of centre within which is
a door on-line with the screens passage. The furthest left hand bay is an
C18 addition. C19 brick plinth with tumbled brick to the left hand corner.
Two 2-light casements at left of the porch and 2 at right of it and to the
first floor are four 3-light casements above and below the eaves, and
divided by king transoms. Single-storey C20 projection to far right with
two 3-light casements. To the ridge is an axial stack at right with C16 or
C17 brickwork to its lower body and C19 brickwork above. At left is a
cross-axial stack and a further similar stack to the left hand gable end.
Left hand gable end: central stack with offsets and lean-tos at either side
with cross windows to the first floor at either side. Right hand gable
end: C20 projecting addition at ground floor level with a 3-light first
floor casement window. Rear: projecting gabled C20 addition at right of
centre with a ground floor doorway and a 2-light first floor window. To
right of this is a glazed lean-to porch and a 2-light C20 window and to
left of it are two 2-light ground floor windows. Two-light first floor
windows at right and left with a 4-light window between them with diamond-
Listing NGR: TM2629455497
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.