Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 16 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 286495
OS Grid Reference: TM2684258597
OS Grid Coordinates: 626842, 258597
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1790, 1.3165
There is also a scheduled monument, Letheringham Priory and Remains of 17th Century Walled Garden, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Letheringham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
LETHERINGHAM HOO ROAD
TM 25 NE
16/3/66 Church of St Mary
Church. C12, C14, c.1685, c.1789. Flint rubble with ashlar dressings and
plain tiled roof. West tower and nave with south-western porch. Tower:
west front: diagonal buttresses with flush-work panels which die back via 3
offsets. Blocked doorway with ashlar surround having roll mouldings with
keels, ogee and cavetto moulds and hood mould. Two-light window to the
first stage with trefoil ogee heads. Cusped lancet above this. Two-light
window with trefoil heads to the belfry stage and quatrefoil to the apex.
Moulded string course below the level of the battlemented parapet which has
flushwork tracery panels, heraldic beasts at the corners. South face:
similar belfry window with blank walling below. Staircase turret at right
with ashlar quoins to the corners. North face: similar save for the
absence of staircase turret. Brick patching around the belfry opening.
Nave: south face: porch at left of c.1685, of English bond brick with a
central round-arched doorway containing door of 6 panels. Brick band below
the shaped gable. Round-arched windows to the flanks, that at left being
blocked. Rendered walling to the rest of the nave front. To right of the
porch is a buttress with 2 offsets below the upper of which is a sundial
which is slightly angled and bears the date 1608. This divides windows,
each of 3 lights with intersecting tracery. Further buttress to the right
hand corner. East face: built in c.1789 incorporating a re-set window
early-Decorated window of 3 lights with intersections, glazing bars and
tracery and cinquefoil heads with daggers above. North face: blank walling
to the whole length, rendered and with 3 buttresses, each with 2 offsets
Interior: porch: C12 doorway with colonettes at either side with cushion
capitals and billet and chevron mouldings to the outer arch with angle
beed. Wave moulding to the inner arch. Nave: fragments from the memorials
to the Naunton family. Early C19 pulpit with fluted frieze and box pews of
the same date.
Sources: St Mary's Church and the Priory. Letheringham, W D Akester, 1979
Munro Cautley, Suffolk Churches, 1982
Nikolaus Pevsner, Buildings of England: Suffolk, 1979.
Listing NGR: TM2684258597
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.