Description: The Almshouses
Date Listed: 16 March 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 286544
OS Grid Reference: TM2978652190
OS Grid Coordinates: 629786, 252190
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1202, 1.3552
Explore more of the area around Ufford, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
UFFORD CHURCH LANE
TM 25 SE
16/3/66 The Almshouses,
Nos 1, 2 and 3
(formerly listed as
Row of 3 almshouses. C17. Flemish bond brick with a plain tile roof,
partially replaced in the C20. Two storeys. Entrance front: Flemish bond
brick with black headers. 5 bays symmetrically disposed. Central doorway
with cambered head and C19 plank door to right and left of which are 3-
light casement windows with cambered heads. To extreme right and left are
similar windows all being of C19 date. To the inner side of these extreme
windows were originally set similar doors to that seen at centre but these
have now been bricked up. To the first floor are 5 two-light casements.
To the ridge at centre is a square stack of 4 flues and there are 2-flue
stacks to the gable ends. Right hand gable end: central stack with
offsets. Band of three bricks depth at the level of the gable kneelers and
a further band of 2 bricks depth between the concave lower body and arched
upper body of the gable. S-shaped tie bar plates at either side of the
chimney. Left hand gable end: similar to the right hand gable end but with
no projecting stack. Clapboarded outshut to the ground floor. Similar
shaped gable with bands to that seen at right.
Interior: Not inspected.
Listing NGR: TM2978652190
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.