Description: Felbridge County Primary School
Date Listed: 20 February 1991
English Heritage Building ID: 287528
OS Grid Reference: TQ3680339676
OS Grid Coordinates: 536803, 139676
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1400, -0.0458
Explore more of the area around Felbridge, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 33 NE FELBRIDGE CRAWLEY DOWN ROAD
School. 1783, founded by James Evelyn; extended in 1934. Flemish bond red brick
with some burnt headers on ground floor and tile-hung timber frame first floor.
Plain tile roof with gabled and half-hipped ends. Brick axial stack.
3-room lobby entrance plan; the former kitchen at centre and small teacher's parlour
on right heated from back-to-back fireplaces in axial stack which forms entrance
lobby at front. The left hand room was the classroom (now kitchen). 3 rooms on
first floor. The C20 stair wing at back probably replaces the original stair
outshut and dates from circa 1934 when a large extension was built on left (west).
2 storeys. Asymmetrical 3-window south east front. Ground floor cambered arch
window openings. 2 3-light leaded-pane casements on left and 12-pane sash on right.
3 small 2-light casements on first floor. Doorway to right of centre with C20
panelled and glazed door and C20 hipped roof open porch. Depressed 2-centred arch
window on right hand (north east) end with 2-light casements with Y-bars and leaded
panes. Short hipped roof wing at rear. Large 1934 extension attached on left
extending to rear.
Interior: Ground floor central room (original kitchen) has chamfered cross-beam
without stops and large brick fireplace with big unchamfered timber lintel. Small
right hand room (parlour) has C20 brick fireplace. First floor has roughly
chamfered cross-beams with run-out stops and exposed wall-plate. C20 staircase and
C20 roof structure.
Note: In 1783 James Evelyn (descendant of John Evelyn, the Diarist) "chose a large
house at Hedgecourt Common - arranging for 1½ acres around it to be enclosed and
used as a school". The school opened on 4 November 1783 and was for 8 boys and
Sources: G Williams, The Village School (1983). Report by P J Gray.
Listing NGR: TQ3680339676
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.