Description: The Gate House
Date Listed: 22 February 1973
English Heritage Building ID: 287783
OS Grid Reference: TQ4141252819
OS Grid Coordinates: 541412, 152819
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2570, 0.0252
Explore more of the area around Limpsfield, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 45SW LIMPSFIELD C.P. BALLARDS LANE,
7/128 The Gate House
House. 1924 by Baillie Scott and Beresford for Mr. Stanley Farr. Re-used Tudor
brick with swept, hipped plain tiled roofs; ridge stacks to left and right of centre,
diagonal end stacks on projecting wings. Central open timber bellcote on lead plinth
with tiled pyramidal roof and crowning weathervane. E shape plan to main centre
range with projecting wings to ends forming rectangular entrance courtyard. 3
projecting 2 storey bays across centre, single storey bays with attics under flat
roof dormers between; projecting end wings single storey with attic under flat roof
dormer. Irregular fenestration of diamond pane leaded casements, with stone and
brick mullions; 3 arched lancets to left end. Central planked door in 2 step
arched recessed porch.
Garden front: angle bay windows to either side of centre, projecting single storey
porches to ends with 2 step arched openings on fronts.
Interior: Panelled and beamed living room, ceiling frame supported on two octagonal
wooden columns with moulded capitals. Tiled fireplaces in ground floor rooms. Barrel
vaulted Billiard room with table light fitting designed by Baillie Scott in the
form of a walled and domed city.
Listing NGR: TQ4141252819
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.