Description: Entrance Lodge and Former Stable Block and Cottage to Greyfriars
Date Listed: 13 December 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 288185
OS Grid Reference: SU9493148366
OS Grid Coordinates: 494931, 148366
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2266, -0.6419
Explore more of the area around Wanborough, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 94NW WANBOROUGH C.P. HOGS BACK
8/121 Entrance Lodge and
Former Stable block and
Cottage to Greyfriars
Entrance Lodge and former stable block and cottage. Circa 1898 by C.A.Voysey.
Pebble dash and roughcast with stone dressings, slate roofs, hipped and swept eaves;
pyramidal lead roof over central tower. Arched entrance tower with flanking lower
wings, quadrant wall to rear extending to square cottage on west end to right of
Entrance Lodge: Central tower with angle pier buttresses. 6 small windows between
stone band over arched stone dressed entrance. Single storey wings either side with
end diagonal buttresses and central ridge stacks. Projecting bay to left with two 4-
light casement windows. 5 casement windows in right hand wing. Doors to rear.
Flat roofed extension to rear right behind wall containing two planked doors .
Square cottage to end, one storey and attic with pyramidal roof. End stacks to
corners on right. 3 windows on ground floor, part glazed door in roof dormer.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971) pp 267-8
Listing NGR: SU9493148366
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.