Description: The Watts Memorial Cloister
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288319
OS Grid Reference: SU9566847394
OS Grid Coordinates: 495668, 147394
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2177, -0.6316
Explore more of the area around Compton, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 94 NE COMPTON C.P. DOWN LANE
3/62 The Watts Memorial Cloister
Cloister. Designed and built in 1911 by Mary Seton Watts. Red brick
with stone plinth, hipped Roman pantiled roof. Rectangular, single
storey with left hand range canted forward at an angle. Twenty bays with
a series of interlacing round headed arches on square, four sectioned piers
with flat Abaci and square piers, or four columns with blocked in capitals.
Wider entrance bay to left of centre, six bays from left end. Lead screen
gates with cross and scroll, Celtic style, decoration, approximately 2½ feet
high. Opposite the gates on the rear wall of the cloister is a wall
monument of terracotta to G F Watts. Three bays, centre one projecting
between half columns with Art Nouveau capitals. Braced base. Flanking
bays contain classical figures, recumbent effigy of Watts to centre.
Further tablet to Mary Watts. The graves are outside and immediately
opposite the cloister entrance.
Listing NGR: SU9567247392
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.