Description: Limnerslease, the Great Studio and the West Wing
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288323
OS Grid Reference: SU9569947829
OS Grid Coordinates: 495699, 147829
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2216, -0.6310
Explore more of the area around Compton, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 94 NE COMPTON C.P. DOWN LANE
3/66 Limnerslease, the
14.6.67 Great Studio and
the West Wing
House, now divided. 1891 by Sir Ernest George for G F Watts. Snecked
Bargate stone below, half timbered above with pebbledashed infill.
Plain tiled roofs, hipped and sweeping down to ends. Roughly L-shaped
with projecting studio wing to right end. Two storeys and attic under
hipped-roof casement dormers. Tall stack to front right with corbelled
top, arcaded rear ridge stacks to left and right. Casement fenestration,
the majority leaded, one window to first floor left in projecting half
hip and gable break in re-entrant angle. Three windows to centre, one in
hipped break to right and one ground floor window in extension to left.
Single storey wing to right with one large wood framed mullioned and
transomed window. Ribbed door in re-entrant angle under flat roofed
porch on bracket. Half glazed door to left end of wing in porch recess.
C20 brick and weatherboarded gable end extension to left end. Weather-
boarded porch to left end. Weather-boarded porch to right hand return
front with two dormers and a further door.
Listed for historical reasons as the home of George Frederick Watts,
OMRA, painter and sculptor until his death in 1904. After his death his
widow, Mary Seton Watts, continued to live there until her death in 1938.
Listing NGR: SU9569947829
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.