Description: Chilworth Manor
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288346
OS Grid Reference: TQ0272047855
OS Grid Coordinates: 502720, 147855
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2207, -0.5305
Explore more of the area around St Martha, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 04 NW ST MARTHA CP BLACKSMITHS LANE
4/89 Chilworth Manor
14.6.67 (formerly listed
under Halfpenny Lane)
House. Built in three stages - mid C17 range to south, possibly for
Vincent Randyll, with C18 range to north joined by range to centre, circa
1930 by Alfred Mildmay. Sandstone rubble with brick dressings to south
and centre portion, cement rendered on north end. Plain tiled roofs,
hipped to south.
South range (entrance front) : Two storeys on brick plinth with brick
plat band over ground floor and brick dentilled eaves. Brick frontispiece
rising to Dutch, dentilled gable to left of centre. Rear stacks to left
and right, larger to right with corbelled top. Regular front of four
casements under 4-centred, arched, stone surrounds and gauged brick heads
on each floor. Frontispiece with pilasters to both floors and central
first floor window under roundel. Stone door surround to ground floor
with pedestal pilasters flanking. Scroll brackets in entablature and
brick keystone above double panelled doors. C19 extension to right end,
single storey with attic under gabled dormers.
Left hand return front (west side): Recessed link between range to right
and C18 range to left. Single storey and attic under three gabled, through-
eaves, stone dormers with three casement doors below. Stacks to each
end. Two windows on each floor of south facing side of left hand block,
two windows on north facing side of right hand block. Glazing bar sash
windows to left hand (C18) block, tripartite window to ground floor left,
casements to right.
Rear (north facade): Two storeys, refaced in C19. Ionic pilasters to
first floor in irregular pattern with cornice parapet. Two glazing bar
sash windows and one blocked window to first floor. Casement doors below.
Interior: Some early C18 panelling on stairs and late C18 metal balustrade.
The house was once owned by Sarah, 1st Duchess of Marlborough, who is
thought to have ordered the C18 extensions to the north.
Country Life articles: November 10 and November 17 1955.
PEVSNER: Buildings of England, Surrey (1971) page 156.
Listing NGR: TQ0272047855
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.