Description: The Coach House
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288360
OS Grid Reference: SU9486843471
OS Grid Coordinates: 494868, 143471
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1826, -0.6441
Explore more of the area around Shackleford, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 94 SW SHACKLEFORD CP EASHING LANE
7/103 The Coach House
Former stables and coach house, now house. Early C18. Coursed sandstone
with yellow brick dressings and hipped plain tiled roof. Two storeys on
plinth with brick plat band over ground floor and rusticated angle quoins.
Brick dentilled eaves. Symmetrical front with central pedimented break
and roundel window in tympaneum, rusticated piers with stone impost blocks
to elliptical arched panel - blocked entrance - with two sashes on first
floor to either side and three 12-pane glazing bar sash windows to either
side on ground floor. Six panel door under transome light with dentilled
pediment to portico on tapering pedestal columns. End Stack to left.
C20 single storey extension to right. Originally stable block to now
demolished Eashing House, a mansion built by Ezra Gill in 1729-1736.
Listing NGR: SU9486843471
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.