Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288490
OS Grid Reference: TQ1098944426
OS Grid Coordinates: 510989, 144426
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1883, -0.4132
Explore more of the area around Shere, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 14 SW SHERE CP HORSHAM ROAD
Holmbury St Mary
11/223 Church of St Mary
Church. 1879 by George Edmund Street, extended to west in 1966 by James E.
Ralph. Snecked Holbury Hill sandstone with Bathstone ashslar dressings,
plain tiled roofs with wood shingled bellcote and brooch spire to west end.
Built on a prominent hillside site, the nave and chancel are under one
roof, aisles in continuous catslide to main roof. Two storey chancel to
east with chancel chapel to north, vestries underneath. Early English
style with four cusped and arched louvred openings on bellcote. Trefoil
head arched windows to aisle walls and six lobed roundel window on west
side of north chancel chapel. Two three-light ribbed cusped tracery windows
to north side on first floor of chapel, two trefoil head windows below
flanked by diagonal buttresses. Trefoil head two-light windows to storey
chancel with complex five-light and roundel east window. Set into south
wall of chancel is cusped arched niche with buttress piers to ends and
crocketed gable over the chest tomb to the second Mrs Street. Quatrefoil
band on recessed panelled sides and cross with floral decoration to top.
Buttressed sloping roof transept block to south wall with rounded buttress
to west end. Depressed three-step arch to basement stairway of north vestry
door. Main door to south west corner in ribbed bolted stone porch recess,
arched and chamfered porch entrance approached up a flight of six steps,
panelled and planked door with strapwork hinges.
Interior: Narthex to west end closed off by glazed screen. Three bay
crown post roof to nave with pentice roofs to aisles. Nave arcade of
octagonal grey stone - Pennant stone with marble shafts attached, coved
rood screen with cusped tracery. Chapel to north (dedicated to the Holy
Spirit) approached up a flight of steps. Vivid stained glass by Clayton
and Bell from designs by G.E. Street. Cusped windbrace panelled roof to
Fittings: Painted and panelled pulpit. Octagonal stone font on four-lobed
stem. Organ of 1881 by T. Lewis and at entrance to the organ chamber is an
oak screen with carving of St Cecilia over designed by Arthur Street, son
of the founder. Piscina and Sedilia in chancel.
Paintings: Reredos -in chancel shows Infant Saviour and Virgin - attributed
to Spinello Aretino, died 1410, donated by G.E. Street.
North wall of north chapel - 12-sided framed painting possibly by Jacopo de
Sellaio (1442-1493). Limoges enamel C12 crucifix also given by Street.
Narthex: Roundel by Luca della Robbia (1400-1481) given by J.R. Clayton
of Clayton & Bell showing a Madonna and child in majolica work.
Listing NGR: TQ1099244426
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.