Description: Church of St Lawrence
Date Listed: 14 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 288656
OS Grid Reference: TQ1182953664
OS Grid Coordinates: 511829, 153664
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2712, -0.3983
Explore more of the area around Effingham, Surrey at Explore Britain.
TQ 15SW EFFINGHAM C.P. CHURCH STREET
6/76 Church of St.
Church. C12 origin with south transept of c1250, chancel C14, nave, aisle and
western tower 1888 by W. J. Shearburn. Random flint rubble, cut and knapped in
tower and nave, with ashlar dressings and quoins. Plain tiled roofs. Short
tower to west, nave with south aisle and added porch, transept to south and
chancel to east. Tower: offset buttresses to west end, 2 storeys under battle-
mented parapet. 3 lancets, linked under continuous hood mould, with louvered
openings in 3 stages of top stage. C19 Perpendicular style window to west end;
over C19 double doors in stone surround. 3 bay,buttressed,nave with ogee-arch,
2-light tracery windows under stone voussoir heads to north side. 2 bay chancel
with Y tracery single light windows and 2-light window to north under segmental
label moulding. (C14). C14 window to east vestry to south flanking chancel.
Gabled C19 porch with simple arched surround to double doors.
Interior: 4 bay south arcade on round piers with moulded capitals. Chancel arch
with 3 orders of jamb shafts under plain capitals. Panelled wood ceilings with
billeted wall plates to nave and chancel. 2 bay transept with braced crownpost
roof and quoined surrounds to windows.
Fittings: Marble and gilt reredos, early C20. Late C19 pulpit with ogee arched
Marble Font: round bowl on centre stem with 4 siennese marble detached pillason
keyhole step plinth. Piscina to south wall of chapel. Water stoup by South Door.
Stained glass window: To north wall at junction with chancel; by Heaton Bulter
and Baynes 1911. Mosaic and terracotta panels flanking the reredos depict Gabriel
and Oriel. By Caesar Czarnikow 1911.
Monuments: White stone tablets in chancel. Remainder of monuments moved to
North Wall: Various tablets including one to Maria Parratt. Died 1844,by
William Pistell. In neo-classical style with grey stone,arched,ground and
reclining mourning figure on a couch. Further tablets to south wall. It is
possible that the transept was built by the monks of Merton Priory.
PEVSNER: Buildings of England, Surrey (1971) p. 207.
Listing NGR: TQ1182953664
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.