Description: Juniper Hall
Date Listed: 28 November 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 289953
OS Grid Reference: TQ1725052707
OS Grid Coordinates: 517250, 152707
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2615, -0.3210
Explore more of the area around Mickleham, Surrey at Explore Britain.
1049 LONDON ROAD, MICKLEHAM
TQ 15 SE 8/103 28.11.51
Listed for historical reasons and on account of the interior of one room. Now the property of the National Trust and occupied by the Field Studies Residential Centre. The orifinal portion of the building was on the site of the centre of the east wing, facing south. This was the Royal Oak Inn. THe north-west wing was added by Sir Cecil Bisshopp about 1762. The inn was demolished and this poetion of the house rebuild and extended further east about 1870. At the some time the north west wing was mutilated. But this is the only postion which has any C18 work in it. 3 storeys. 7 windows. Red brick. The brick-work probably dated from 1870 when 2 large and 2 small gables were bubstiuted for the top storey of the C18 building which had a cornice and parapet. Large ugly bay of 4 windows at the north end of the front (The Sculptured Drawing Room). 3 round-headed doorway in the centre with semi-circular fanlight. This became the front door when the wing was built in 1762 but the front door was moved to the south frontoin the alterations of 1870. The only portion of the interior of interest remaing from the 1762 house is the ground floor room a the north-west corner of the North-West wing. This is called the Sculptures Drawing Room. The walls have plaster figuresor plaques set in elaborate foilated borders, with ceiling and chimney piece to match. The room was possibly designed by Lady Templeton who is said to have designed a similar room at Norbury Park nearby. Suring the French Reolution Juniper Hall became the principle meeting place of some of the most distinguished emigres whi had left France on account of the political developments. Amongst others, Talleyrand, Narbonne, Madame de Stael, General D'Arblay, Lally Tollendal, Madame de Broglie and the Princess d'Henin all stayed there. It is on account of thier assoications with the house and the survival of the Sculptured Drawings Room that the house is listed. It was also occupited by Thomas Broadwood of Broadwood's pianos from 1814 onwards. The 9 fine cedars in the garden to the west of the house were probably planted by Sir Cecil Bisshopp about 1762.
Listing NGR: TQ1725052707
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.