Description: Ruckman's Farm House
Date Listed: 11 November 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 290039
OS Grid Reference: TQ1328136701
OS Grid Coordinates: 513281, 136701
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1184, -0.3829
Explore more of the area around Abinger, Surrey at Explore Britain.
ABINGER C.P. RUCKMANS LANE
8/69 Ruckman's Farm House
House. C17 with additions of 1894 by Sir Edwin Lutyens for Miss Iyell, further
additions (Music Room) of 1902. Timber frame and brick core with red brick below,
colourwashed to right, with sandstone rubble on square bay to right of centre and
to ground floor of right hand wing, tile hung above on main range. Music room
extension to left of sandstone rubble with red brick angle quoins and tile-on-
edge dressings. Half-hipped Horsham slab roof to centre, hipped tiled roofs to
ends. E-shaped plan with extensions to ends enclosing entrance courtyard. Two
storeys to centre with coved eaves, 3 storeys on gabled square-bay to right of
centre. Two storey extensions dropping to single storey to right, Music Room one
storey over sloping basement where ground drops away. Multiple stacks on cross
ridge plinth to left, further stacks at junction with right hand wing and to rear.
Oversailing gable on roof to left. Three, 3-light first floor windows, two to left
diamond-pane, two windows to ground floor and one continuous 5-light window across
each floor of the gabled bay to right of centre. Ribbed door to left with flanking
diamond-pane single lights under flat hood. Gable end wing projects to right with
one 4-light window on the return wall and a projecting first floor. Square bay
window on ground floor. One 4-light, leaded, window to first floor of gable end,
door in flanking light and window below. Two windows in flat roofed extension to
right. Pentice extension to left connecting by a corridor to the Music Room,
projecting to left end. Tile-on-edge band to basement, deep brick decorated eaves
above. Two diagonal stacks on offset plinth to front left of centre with part crow-
stepped and decorated with tile-on-edge. Round arched door in brick surround to
left in basement storey. Left hand return front:- Two 32-light, cambered-head,
glazing-bar sashes to first floor in brick break, two further sashes in basement.
Rear - two double doors, glazed, under fixed casements, external wooden staircase
and balcony. Corridor connects to house on the left with square crowstepped stack.
Gable to left on house with leaded fenestration. Rear of house:- Triple gable
elevation with continuous leaded glazing at second and first floor levels. Central
recess on ground floor now with plate glass fenestration and doors.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971) p.391.
LUTYENS: THE WORK OF THE ENGLISH ARCHITECT SIR EDWIN LUTYENS (1889-1944) Catalogue,
Arts Council of Great Britain 1981 pp.85-192.
EDWIN LUTYENS: Architectural Monographs 6 (Academy Edns) (1979) p.102.
EDWIN LUTYENS: Architect Laureate by R. Gradridge (1981) pp.11-13.
Listing NGR: TQ1328136701
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.