Description: Park House Farm House
Date Listed: 29 September 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 290259
OS Grid Reference: TQ2171644326
OS Grid Coordinates: 521716, 144326
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1852, -0.2598
Explore more of the area around Leigh, Surrey at Explore Britain.
LEIGH C.P. MYNTHURST
9/145 Park House Farm House
Hall house. C14 with later C15 and C17 extensions, further additions and
restorations in the 1930's. Timber framed, some posts renewed, with whitewashed
brick infill and brick plinth, C20 plain tiled roofs, hipped with gablet to front,
oversailing gable to right. L-shaped plan comprising a 3-bay hall house to front
with C17 single bay extension to left and a C15 two bay hall to rear at right
angles to rear right. Two storeys with offset double stack to front left, diagonal
shafts rebuilt in C20, fine multiple C17 ribbed stack to rear wing with beehive
pots and C19 stack to right end. C20 diamond-frame leaded casement fenestration,
two windows on first floor left, one to right, similar arrangement below. 1930's
ogee hip-roofed porch, two storeys, to right of centre with jetty on three sides.
Tension bracing on first floor. One window on first floor and studded door below.
Rear:- two dormers on wing, underbuilt in brick.
Interior:- cambered tie beam and braced,square crown-post to left on front range,
other braced crown posts exposed. Larger octagonal crown post with full, 4-way
bracing on large,cambered tie beam with broach stops to chamfers on post and
moulded cap,on rear hall. Duplicate curved bracing in Hall/Solar partition to
front; spur pieces in spandrels between main posts and arched braces of open truss
of hall. East end of solar overhangs the hall, a rare occurence in Surrey. (Cf -
Little Bignor, Sussex).
Report and survey of the house, prepared by R. T. Mason in the 1960's, are in the
possession of the owners.
Listing NGR: TQ2171644326
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.