Description: The Red House
Date Listed: 23 February 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 291373
OS Grid Reference: SU9678244977
OS Grid Coordinates: 496782, 144977
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1958, -0.6163
Explore more of the area around Godalming, Surrey at Explore Britain.
GODALMING FRITH HILL ROAD
SU 94 SE
The Red House
House. 1899. By Edwin Lutyens. For Rev W H Evans. Red brick in Flemish bond;
plain tile roof. Square on plan, built around central stair and into hill slope
giving 2 storeys on north-east (entrance) elevation, 3 storeys on returns and 4
storeys on south-west (garden) elevation. 4 x 3 bays. Leaded-light windows
with wood frames and mullions; corniced multiple flue stacks. Principal, garden
(south-west), elevation: bay 1 narrow with 2-light window to 1st and 2nd
floors. Bay 3 wide with round-arched board door on right of lowest floor (into
garden room); window of 4 lights to left on ground floor, 6 lights with tile
dripmould to 1st floor, 2 lights with dripmould on right between 1st and 2nd
floors and 6 lights to 2nd floor. Projecting, polygonal, asymmetrical towers to
bays 2 and 4, that on right having 2-light window to lowest floor and continuous
windows above wrapping round corners; that on right having, on ground floor, 2
lights returned from window on left return, and continuous windows above.
Stacks at ends and between bays 1 and 2. Rear (entrance) elevation: flight of
brick steps down to central panelled door with side-lights under bracketed
canopy with a 2-light window either side and 4 above, all with tile dripmoulds;
parapet with cyma-moulded coping; hipped roof with tall end stacks. South-east
return: central bay has doorways to both ground and 1st floors: on ground floor
the door is fronted by triple-chamfered segmental-arched porch with splayed
reveals and parapet on which stand columns supporting the hipped roof porch
which protects the two lst-floor doors; brick steps rise from the lower porch to
the upper porch; the doors are all I-glazed with small-pane glazing; the lower
door has a side-light; on 1st floor the left door has a 2-light side-light, the
right door has a 3-light window to right; on 2nd floor a window of 4 lights to
left, 3 lights to right, slightly stepped down. To left of porch is broad
external stack with offset near top; similarly offset, lateral stack at right
corner. Left bay has a 2-light window on each floor including one to lower
ground floor which has a moulded brick surround and mullion and timber lintel;
on left are the ends of the wrap-around tower windows; panelled parapet.
North-west return: central board door; asymmetrically-placed windows, mostly of
4 lights, some with elliptical relieving arches with tiled tympana; 4-bay
outbuilding range projecting on right with 2 board doors and 3-light windows.
Interior: the major feature is the central, open-well, wooden stair, with closed
string, diagonally-set balusters, square newels with vase type finials and
traces of original leaf-trail painting on handrail; stair lit by coved top light
with columns supporting cornice. South-east side has principal rooms, that on
ground floor having wide chimney-piece with giant, tripartite keystone and side
pilasters to fireplace; side niches with impost and keystone bands; and cornice
on floating capitals. Former butler's pantry on lower ground floor retains wall
This is an early seminal work by Lutyens. Rev Evans was a retired housemaster
from the nearby Charterhouse School (q.v. Item 2/146).
G Stamp, The English House 1860-1914 (The Flowering of English Domestic
Architecture), 1986, pp 100-101.
Listing NGR: SU9676844984
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.