Description: Tilford Institute
Date Listed: 3 May 1973
English Heritage Building ID: 291604
OS Grid Reference: SU8720743387
OS Grid Coordinates: 487207, 143387
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1831, -0.7537
Explore more of the area around Tilford, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 84SE TILFORD C.P. TILFORD ROAD
4/95 Tilford Institute
Institute. 1893 by Sir Edwin Lutyens in memory of C. A. Anderson. Red brick below,
timber frame above with rendered infill, plain tiled,hipped roof swept out to eaves.
Built on two levels with basement to front, gable end to street. Buttressed plinth
with in-built bench under main floor and attic above. Large angle bay window to
left, decorative framing to centre and plaster cartouche to right under leaded,
half-oval window and pentice roof. Jettied range over main window with decorative
bracing and leaded attic window above. Arched door to right of centre on basement.
Leaded casement fenestration to return fronts, double doors to right hand return
front and 3 massive diagonal stacks to right.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971) p.488.
Listing NGR: SU8720743387
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.