Description: Bridge over the River Wey to the North West Corner of Tilford Green
Date Listed: 9 March 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 291606
OS Grid Reference: SU8717443524
OS Grid Coordinates: 487174, 143524
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1843, -0.7541
There is also a scheduled monument, Bridge, north end of Tilford Green, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Tilford, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 84SE TILFORD C.P. TILFORD ROAD
4/97 Bridge over the River
9/3/60 Wey to the North West
corner of Tilford
Bridge. C13, probably built by the Monks of Waverley Abbey. Local iron-stone rubble
with thin slabs forming voussoirs over the arches, C20 wooden posts and rails above.
Four visible arches, a fifth, once visible, now marked by upstream cutwater and down-
stream projection. The arches increase slightly in span and height to the centre.
Upstream cutwaters half-pyramidal in shape, downstream cutwaters rounded on "keeled"
ie pointed, plinths. Centre pair of upstream cutwaters chamfered. One of a series
of bridges built by the Monks between Farnham and Guildford and an important feature
on the Village Green. The bridge is a scheduled Ancient Monument: Surrey Ancient
Monument No. 140.
RESEARCH VOLUME OF THE SURREY ARCHAEOLOGICAL SOC. NO. 1 (1974): The River Wey Bridges
Between Farnham and Guildford. Article by D. R. Renn pp 75 - 83.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971) pp 408 - 9.
V.C.H. VOL II p.593.
Listing NGR: SU8717443524
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.