Description: Bridge over the River Wey to North East Side of Green
Date Listed: 9 March 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 291620
OS Grid Reference: SU8738643449
OS Grid Coordinates: 487386, 143449
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1836, -0.7511
There is also a scheduled monument, Bridge, east end of Tilford Common, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Tilford, Surrey at Explore Britain.
SU 84SE TILFORD C.P. TILFORD STREET
4/111 Bridge over the River Wey
9/3/60 to North East side of Green
Bridge. C13, probably built by the Monks of Waverley Abbey. Local rubble-stone with
thin slabs forming voussoirs of arches; C20 wooden posts and rails above. 6 arches
remaining, a seventh arch buried in the bank and now marked by a cutwater and buttress,
the arches increase in height and span to the centre. Arch to right hand side elliptical
and brick edged. "Keeled" ie diamond shaped cutwaters to upstream side, rounded cutwaterE
over keeled plinths to downstream side. One of a series of bridges built over the Wey
by the Monks and an important feature on the Village Green. The bridge is a scheduled
Ancient Monument: Surrey Ancient Monument No. 141. RESEARCH VOLUME OF THE SURREY
ARCHAEOLOGICAL SOC. No. 1 (1974): The River Wey Bridges between Farnham and Gilford.
Article by D. F. Renn F.S.A. pp.75-83.
PEVSNER: BUILDINGS OF ENGLAND, SURREY (1971) pp.408-9
V.C.H. VOL II p.593.
Listing NGR: SU8738643449
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.