Date Listed: 12 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 291941
OS Grid Reference: TQ9213120497
OS Grid Coordinates: 592131, 120497
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9519, 0.7340
Explore more of the area around Rye, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
1578 CONDUIT HILL
TQ 9220 1/97 12.10.51.
Now the Headquarters of the St John's Ambulance Brigade of Rye. The house
consists of 2 wings and a slight projection to the north. The west wing has
a plastered front on the south side which probably dates from the C17 and
may conceal an earlier timber-framed building beneath it. On the north side
this wing has an C18 front of brick on the ground floor, hung with tiles
above and a bay window. This wing has 2 storeys and attic and 3 windows.
To the west of this is an C18 wing built in 2 sections with 2 gables towards
Conduit Hill and a mansard roof on the north and south sides. This has 3
storeys with 1 window on the south side and 2 windows on the north side.
The ground floor has an arcade on the north side, above, it is hung with
tiles. Tiled roof. Wooden eaves cornice. On the south side there is a
small 2 storey addition joining the 2 wings. The doorway is at the side
in Conduit Hill and has a flat hood over it supported on brackets. Massive
chimney on west side.
Listing NGR: TQ9214020504
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.