Description: The Monastery
Date Listed: 12 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 291942
OS Grid Reference: TQ9216720490
OS Grid Coordinates: 592167, 120490
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9518, 0.7345
Explore more of the area around Rye, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
1578 CONDUIT HILL
TQ 9220 1/98 12.10.51.
This building is now a pottery. It is the remains of the Chapel of the Austin
Friary dating from about 1380. The walls are of stone rubble with stone
dressings. There are buttresses at the south west and north west angles.
In the south wall are 3 C14 windows containing 3 trefoil ogee-headed lights
and leaf tracery above. In the west wall is the pointed arch of a window
and in the east gable, which dates from the C16, a square-headed window containing
2 elliptically-arched lights. The windows in the north wall were inserted
in 1906. Scheduled as an AM.
Listing NGR: TQ9215720488
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.