Description: The Gatehouse, Battle Abbey
Date Listed: 3 August 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 292121
OS Grid Reference: TQ7484915786
OS Grid Coordinates: 574849, 115786
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9151, 0.4860
Explore more of the area around Battle, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 7415-7515 BATTLE HIGH STREET
(south west side)
41/1A The Gatehouse, Battle
3.8.61 (formerly listed as
part of Battle Abbey)
Built in 1338 by Abbot Alan of Ketling. Stone. Pointed carriage archway and
similar pedestrian archway with two storeys over. Ornamental arcading on first
floor. Castellated parapet. Four octagonal turrets at the angles. The portion
to the west of it forming the porters lodge is C12 and of two storeys. The portion
to the east of the gateway was added in the C16 probably by Sir Anthony Browne
on the site of the Almonry of the Abbey and was used as the court room of the
manor of Battle till the C18. Two storeys. Four windows. Two round-headed arches.
At the north east corner is an arched buttress and an octagonal - turret behind
it. Part of the Scheduled Ancient Monument.
Listing NGR: TQ7490915704
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.