Description: Bodiam Castle
Date Listed: 3 August 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 292338
OS Grid Reference: TQ7855425645
OS Grid Coordinates: 578554, 125645
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0025, 0.5435
There is also a scheduled monument, A Quadrangular Castle and Its Landscaped Setting, an Associated Millpond, Medieval Crofts and Cultivation Earthworks, and a World War II Pillbox at Bodiam, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Bodiam, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 72 NE BODIAM EWHURST ROAD
6/12 Bodiam Castle
This building is an example of the latest period of military architecture of the
Middle Ages. It was built by Sir Edward Dalingridge in the years following 1385,
when he was given a licence to crenellate. The castle is built of sandstone ashlar
quarried at Wadhurst. It takes the form of a hollow court-yard set in a wide moat.
It is of 2 storeys with a castellated parapet over. At the four corners are round
towers of 3 storeys similarly embattled-and with vices containing the stairways.
In the centre of the south, east and west sides are projecting square towers
similarly embattled, the south one with machicolation below the parapet. This
tower contained the postern gate which had a drawbridge across the moat. In the
centre of the north side are two similarly projecting square towers with a recessed
portion between and on each side, and-machicolation over the whole. Four centred
archway with portcullis. This was the main entrance of the- castle and drawbridge
across the moat. Loop windows, some with pointed heads. The hall and kitchen
were on the south side of the internal court-yard, the living rooms on the east
side, but most of the buildings behind the outer walls are now ruinous. The castle
passed by marriage to the Lewknor family in 1470. It was partly dismantled during
the Civil War. It was bought by Lord Curzon in 1917, restored in 1919 and
bequeathed by him to the National Trust in 1925. Ancient Monument.
Listing NGR: TQ7855425645
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.