Description: Brightling Park
Date Listed: 14 September 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 292462
OS Grid Reference: TQ6833720933
OS Grid Coordinates: 568337, 120933
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9632, 0.3958
Explore more of the area around Brightling, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 6820-6920 BRIGHTLING THE STREET
38/4 Brightling Park
Two storeys and attic. The north front has nine windows and four dormers hidden
by the parapet. Red brick and grey headers on an ashlar base. Painted stringcourse
Brick cornice and parapet. Hipped slate roof. Windows with keystones over and
glazing bars intact. The east front has five windows and two dormers and a canted
bay on both floors containing the doorway at the head of nine steps with pilasters,
projecting cornice and door of six fielded panels. This house has been reduced
in size by the demolition of the south wings since it was first listed. The estate
was purchased by Thomas Fuller in 1697, and the house was built by him in the early
years of the C18. It was then called Rose Hill after his wife, Rose who was an
heiress from Jamaica. The Fullers were prosperous ironmasters in Sussex.
Listing NGR: TQ6833720936
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.