Description: Russian Memorial in the Churchyard of St John Sub Castro
Date Listed: 29 October 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 292975
OS Grid Reference: TQ4152210471
OS Grid Coordinates: 541522, 110471
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8764, 0.0102
Explore more of the area around Lewes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 4110 SE LEWES ABINGER PLACE
10/4 (north side)
Russian memorial in the
Churchyard of St John sub
Memorial. Circa 1877 in a neo-Gothic style by John Strong, mason of Lewes.
Stone on an octagonal stone base and moulded round plinth. Octagonal drum with
marble shafts carrying cusped pointed arches and the ribs to the pointed
octagonal spire. Octagonal tabernacle feature above supporting cross.
Inscribed with the names of the Russian soldiers who died during imprisonment
in Lewes at the time of the Crimean War. Panel to east reads 'Sacred/to the
Memory of/the Russian Soldiers/who died Prisoners/of War in Lewes/in the years/
1854/ 1855 1856'. Panel to the west reads 'RAISED/by the order of/His Majesty/
the Emperor of/RUSSIA/Alexander II/1877. THE MEMORIAL/was restored by the/
Embassy of the USSR/1957/At the instance of the/Friends of Lewes/Society'.
Listing NGR: TQ4152210471
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.