Church of St Anne, Lewes
Description: Church of St Anne
Date Listed: 25 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 293480
OS Grid Reference: TQ4093510005
OS Grid Coordinates: 540935, 110005
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8724, 0.0017
Location: Western Road, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1RJ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Lewes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 4010 SE & TQ 4009 NE LEWES WESTERN ROAD
8/489 & 13/489 (south side)
Church of St Anne
Church. Early C12, late C12, C15, restored in 1889. Flint with stone quoins
and dressings, some of the flint coursed. Horsham slab roofs with some
replacement plain tiles. West tower, nave with south aisle and south chapel,
chancel. West tower of three stages separated by string-courses. Short spire
on pyramidal roof. Five-bay nave north wall with north porch, on which has
been reset the former C12 doorway. Triple-ordered arch with pair of columns
with cushion capitals and some chevron-moulding of arch. Simple staff-moulded
lancets to north wall, all 1889, as throughout the church. Three-bay south
wall, that to the east of the vestry. Cross-gabled chapel to the west with
paired C15-type windows in square surround. Chancel of three windows to north
and two to south. Separated triple lancet at east end. Interior: Two-bay
aisle to south with vestry to west and chapel to east. Arcade of late C12
on drum piers with square abaci. Stiff-leaf capitals with stiff-leaf corbels
at the corners. Pointed arches with chamfers except round-arched easternmost
bay, showing existence of earlier C12 transetal chapel. Chapel with
quadripartite rib-vault and boss of similar carving to capitals of south arcade
and possibly of similar date. Nave roof of queen posts and curved queen struts,
dated 1538. Font: C12, drum-shaped with basket-weave decoration, band of plait
below and pellet above. Glass: south transept by Capronnier of Brussels,
1889. Pulpit: 1620, on angle columns with panels of lions' heads.
W.H. Godfrey, Lewes Guide, Lewes, 1933, (revised ed. 1977), 37-38.
B.O.E., Sussex, Harmondsworth, 1965, 551-552.
Listing NGR: TQ4093710006
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.