Description: The Ruins of the Old House Known As Halland House in the Grounds of Halland Park House, Laughton
Date Listed: 12 August 1981
English Heritage Building ID: 295092
OS Grid Reference: TQ5116515987
OS Grid Coordinates: 551165, 115987
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9235, 0.1494
Explore more of the area around East Hoathly with Halland, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
EAST HOATHLY EAST HOATHLY
The Ruins of the old
house known as
Halland House in the
grounds of Halland
Park House, Laughton
TQ 51 NW 6/855
1595. Remains of the former Halland House now part of the garden wall.
Red brick with stone quoins and brick buttresses. Prior to the death of
the Duke of Newcastle in 1768, on this site stood a mansion named Halland
House. It was dismantled by Lord Pelham. (q.v. 6/562A) (q.v. 6/562).
To the north-east of the latter are some remains, now garden walls, of the
old house. This formed a complete courtyard built by Sir Thomas Pelham
in 1595. Red brick with stone quoins and brick buttresses.
Listing NGR: TQ5116515987
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.