Description: The Wellhouse to the South East of Friston Place
Date Listed: 13 October 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 295130
OS Grid Reference: TV5487398825
OS Grid Coordinates: 554873, 98825
Latitude/Longitude: 50.7683, 0.1949
Explore more of the area around East Dean and Friston, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
FRISTON JEVINGTON ROAD
The Wellhouse to the
TV 59 NW 27/24A 13.10.52
Probably C16 restored in late C19. Square building faced with flints with
red brick quoins. Pyramidal tiled roof, with wooden turret at the apex
surmounted by a weather-vane. Windows with stone mullions. Four-centred
stone doorway with the initials and dates J.A.M. 1896 and F.J.M. 1902 (J.A. Maitland
and his son F.J. Maitland) over it. Inside is a huge wooden donkey wheel
for raising the water.
Listing NGR: TV5487398825
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.