Description: The Oast House
Date Listed: 26 November 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 296120
OS Grid Reference: TQ4951018805
OS Grid Coordinates: 549510, 118805
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9493, 0.1271
Explore more of the area around Framfield, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
FRAMFIELD HEMPSTEAD ROAD
The Oast House
(formerly listed as
The Oast House,
TQ 42 SE 26/863 26.11.53
Originally the stables of Hempstead Manor Farm. Now converted into a house.
Late C17. Red brick and grey headers. Pilasters flank each window bay.
Long and short quoins. Hipped tiled roof. Modern casement windows. Two
stone doorways with 4-centred heads and dripstones over. Two circular
windows on first floor. Two storeys. Three windows. The building is
now joined by a modern brick and stone porch to 2 former oasthouses which
are now part of the house.
Listing NGR: TQ4951018805
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.