Description: Windmill Lodge, with the Gateway Adjoining in the Grounds of Eridge Castle
Date Listed: 31 December 1982
English Heritage Building ID: 296180
OS Grid Reference: TQ5645236340
OS Grid Coordinates: 556452, 136340
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1050, 0.2334
Explore more of the area around Frant, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
FRANT ERIDGE ROAD
Windmill Lodge, with
the Gateway adjoining
in grounds of
TQ 53 NE 7/334
The early C19 Eridge Castle was demolished and rebuilt in 1938-9 (Architect
John L Denman). But some of the Lodges of that period remain. Their architect
was probably John Montier of Tunbridge Wells. Circa 1825. L-shaped building.
Two storeys. Two windows. Ground floor stone, above imitation timbering
with elaborate decorative plasterwork. Tiled roof. Gable end to each
wing with elaborate carved bargeboards. Casement windows. Castellated
porch in the angle of the L. Adjoining to the north-west is a pair of
rectangular rusticated stone gate-piers, placed diagonally, with caps consisting
of bull's heads of the Abergavenny arms rising from coronets.
These gate-piers flank the carriage drive. Similar smaller gate-piers
with ball caps flank the pedestrian entrances on each side of the carriage
drive. The gate-piers are probably later in date than the Lodge.
Listing NGR: TQ5645236340
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.