Description: Ashdown Park
Date Listed: 31 December 1982
English Heritage Building ID: 296358
OS Grid Reference: TQ4309332151
OS Grid Coordinates: 543093, 132151
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0709, 0.0410
Explore more of the area around Hartfield, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
HARTFIELD WYCH CROSS
TQ 43 SW 11/119
Originally a country mansion. Later the Convent of Notre Dame, when it was
considerably enlarged. Now Barclays Bank Training Department. The original
portion as a house dates from 1867. Two storeys and attic. Six windows. Ashlar.
Slate roof. Flanked by crow-stepped gables. Beneath these are projecting bays of
5 lights each on ground and first floors with castellated parapets over. Thin
pointed sash windows, mostly in pairs. Quatrefoil openings over the ground floor
windows. Service wing to west. To the west again is a later Convent addition.
On the east side the house is adjoined by a screen to the former chapel of
Our Lady and St Richard, now a lecture room. This was added to the Convent
in 1926. It comprises a chancel, nave and south-west tower. Stone. Steep
slate roof. C14 Gothic style. To the east again is a further but detached
Convent wing probably of the same date as the chapel.
Listing NGR: TQ4309332151
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.