Description: The Old Palace (The Convent of the Holy Child Jesus, St Leonard's Mayfield School)
Date Listed: 26 November 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 296533
OS Grid Reference: TQ5873627111
OS Grid Coordinates: 558736, 127111
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0215, 0.2619
Explore more of the area around Mayfield and Five Ashes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
MAYFIELD HIGH STREET
The Old Palace (The
Convent of the Holy
Child Jesus, St Leonard's
TQ 5827 39/503 26.11.53
Remains of a medieval palace of the Archbishops of Canterbury converted into
a school by Edward Welby Pugin in 1863-6. Some C13 work. But the main portion is the C14 hall, now the school chapel. Stone. Tiled roof. Three tall pointed windows of 2 tiers of trefoil-headed lights with triangles above, each trefoil-shaped. Buttresses flanking the windows. Vaulted entrance to south-west. Adjoining this is a C14 tower and C15 well-house. Additions of 1863-6 by Edward Welby Pugin to north-east. Two storeys and attic. Five windows. Three gabled dormers. Stone. Tiled roof. Casement windows with stone mullions and transoms. Two storeyed gabled porch. Gable at north end. Further to the north-east are
additions of 1896 in red brick by Peter Paul Pugin.
Listing NGR: TQ5871827113
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.