Description: The Gatehouse of the Old Palace (The Convent of the Holy Child Jesus, St Leonard's Mayfield School)
Date Listed: 26 November 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 296534
OS Grid Reference: TQ5876927025
OS Grid Coordinates: 558769, 127025
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0207, 0.2623
Explore more of the area around Mayfield and Five Ashes, East Sussex at Explore Britain.
MAYFIELD HIGH STREET
The Gatehouse of the
Old Palace (The Convent
of the Holy Child Jesus,
St Leonard's Mayfield
TQ 5827 39/503A 26.11.53
C15 arch of the gateway of the palace of the Archbishops of Canterbury incorporated in a new building added by Edward Welby Pugin in 1863-6. Ashlar. Tiled roof. Casement windows with stone mullions. Centre gateway of three storeys and three windows with tall pointed carriage archway. Gabled projection on each side, the west one L-shaped and two storeys and two windows, the east one of one storey and two school buildings.
Listing NGR: TQ5876927025
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.