Description: 30-34, High Street
Date Listed: 26 March 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 297199
OS Grid Reference: TQ0185107151
OS Grid Coordinates: 501851, 107151
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8549, -0.5544
Explore more of the area around Arundel, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
5401 HIGH STREET
Nos 30 to 34 (even)
TQ 0107 1/24 26.3.49.
Mid C18. Former George Inn. Red brick, with chaining of grey headers between
window ranges. Rusticated quoins of brick up to cornice level. Moulded brick
cornice above 1st floor. Rubbed brick voussoirs on 1st floor. Pitched tile roof,
masked by parapet with ashlar coping. Red brick chimneys.
3 storeys. 5 bays, of which centre 3 break forward. 2 flanking bays have Venetian
windows with double hung sashes and glazing bars on 1st floor. All other windows
are double-hung sashes with glazing bars, those on 2nd floor segment-headed, although
2 on 2nd floor have been filled in.
All 3 houses have shopfronts inserted on ground floor. No 30 has a segmental
bay on either side of the door, and dentilled cornice above glazed double doorway
with semi-circular fanlight. No 32 has 1 oblong bay window with glazing bars,
1 door with oblong fanligt, and moulded cornice over both. No 34 has an oblong
bay window with renewed glazing bars on either side of panelled double doors,
top 3/4 glazed, with marginal glazing bars. Moulded entablature over all, with
fret pattern on frieze.
In the C18 The George Inn belonged to the Duke of Norfolk and was the political
centre of the local Whig party, until superseded by the Norfolk Arms in 1783-5.
Nos 18 to 34 (even) with the Castle Walls and Town Gates form a group.
Listing NGR: TQ0186107156
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.