Description: The Priory (St Wilfreds)
Date Listed: 7 October 1974
English Heritage Building ID: 297208
OS Grid Reference: TQ0168107206
OS Grid Coordinates: 501681, 107206
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8554, -0.5568
Explore more of the area around Arundel, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 0107 LONDON ROAD
1/4 The Priory (St.Wilfred's)
The grade shall be amended to read: -
5401 LONDON ROAD
The Priory (St Wilfred's)
TQ 0107 1/4
1380. Rebuilt in early C19 [not marked on 1785 map, therefore presumably ruinous
at this date. Appears in present form on engraving by T Allom, d.1842]. Former
College of Holy Trinity, attached to, and contemporary with the Fitzalan Chapel.
Dissolved at Reformation, abandoned, then re-established in C19 as convent of
Servite Nuns . Now an orphanage.
Nodular flint. Pulborough stone dressings in mediaeval parts, and some early
C19 parts. Ashlar dressings elsewhere. Some random Pulborough stone, upper greesand,
and clunch in mediaeval parts.
2 storeys. Crenellated parapet (machicolated on west elevation of south range).
2 ranges, set at 90 degrees, and 1 C14 wall to another, non-existent range, thus
forming 3 sides of a courtyard of which the 4th is the south wall of the Fitzalan
South elevation of south range has low tower at west end. 13 ranges of 2-light,
cusped, pointed arched casement windows with diagonal lead glazing bars, set in
oblong surrounds with moulded reveals. 2 doors with pointed arched heads set
in oblong panels with moulded reveals, and with steps up flanked by iron railings
with urn finials. 2 buttresses. West elevation of south range has 1 range of
4-light, cusped pointed arched windows set in square recessed panels with moulded
reveals, and 4 quatrefoil panels between storeys. 1 door.
C14 wall is pierced by unglazed 2-light windows with cusped trefoil heads, and
embrasures splayed internally.
Listing NGR: TQ0168607208
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.