Description: The Public Library
Date Listed: 20 September 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 297702
OS Grid Reference: TQ0676804403
OS Grid Coordinates: 506768, 104403
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8293, -0.4853
Explore more of the area around Angmering, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 0604 ANGMERING ARUNDEL ROAD
25/63 (east side)
GV The Public Library
Originally the Older School, founded by Sir William Older in 1682 and rebuilt by W G K
Gratwicke in 1853. Architect S S Teulon. L-shaped Gothic building. Faced with
squared knapped flints with dressings, quoins and diaper pattern of red brick. Slate
roof. Casement windows. The west wing, which was probably the Schoolmaster's houses
originally, has two storeys and two windows facing west. Gable with the date 1853 in
it and two pointed windows of two lights each. On the south front is a tower with a
hipped roof and a bell-turret over. To the east is an L-shaped wing of one storey.
Three windows facing south, and three facing west.
Listing NGR: TQ0676804403
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.