Description: The Gun Inn
Date Listed: 12 October 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 297913
OS Grid Reference: TQ1215808843
OS Grid Coordinates: 512158, 108843
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8682, -0.4075
Explore more of the area around Findon, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
TQ 1208 FINDON THE SQUARE
(South east side)
The Gun Inn
Public house, formerly house. North wing is a pre-1530 building with 3-bay crosswing, the former open hall and service end having been engulfed in a later building to the south with late C18 door case and the whole building refurbished in the early C20. The north wing is a possible late C15 crosswing, timber-framed but clad in roughcast with down braces exposed to right side gable and tiled roof with later brick chimneystacks to the north. EXTERIOR: 2 storeys with irregular early C20 fenestration. South wing is also covered in roughcast with hipped tiled roof. 2 storeys with 2 irregularly-placed windows, double or triple sashes, one of Venetian type which appear early C20 and genuine late C18 door case with open pediment, engaged columns semi-circular fanlight and door of 6 fielded panels. Plaster plaque of a gun on the east wall. The 2 wings are joined by a linking portion.5 windows facing east. INTERIOR: north wing retains crownpost roof, high arched braces to the first floor indicating a 2-floored upper chamber and dais beam visible in the bar. South wing has dogleg staircase with turned balusters and square newel post, dado panelling and wooden fireplace of Georgian style.
(See 1996 Report by Dr Annabelle Hughes.)
Listing NGR: TQ1215808843
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.