Description: 9, Church Street
Date Listed: 15 March 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 298667
OS Grid Reference: TQ1773711192
OS Grid Coordinates: 517737, 111192
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8882, -0.3275
Explore more of the area around Steyning, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
STEYNING CHURCH STREET
1. (south-east side)
TQ 1711 24/62 15.3.55
The original part of Steyning Grammar School. C15 timber-framed building originally
the Brotherhood Hall of the Fraternity of the Holy Trinity. This ceased to exist at
the Dissolution. The Grammar School was established here in 1614, over the doorway
is a tablet inscribed "Brotherhood Hall. Grammar School founded in his native town
and endowed AD 1614 by Wm Holland, Alderman of Chichester". Ground floor has been
rebuilt in brick, now painted. First floor oversails on bressumer and brackets and
is now tile-hung, once painted, but has no windows facing the street. Above are
wide two gables of ornamental timbering with carved bargeboards, 11 pendants and
five-light casement windows. Horsham slab roof. Central red brick porch of three
storeys and window of which ground and first floors date from 1614 and the top
storey with gable over, from late C19. It contains a pointed brick archway with
dripstone over and a wrought-iron gate. Inner doorway set in moulded architrave
surround with original door of four vertical panels. To south-west of the porch
are two windows and two doorways, one with four-centred head, moulded jambs and
lintel. To north-east of the porch are three windows and similar blocked doorway.
Large modern additions behind, to south-east, not of special interest.
Listing NGR: TQ1773711192
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.