Description: Fox Hall
Date Listed: 5 June 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 301210
OS Grid Reference: SU8885412827
OS Grid Coordinates: 488854, 112827
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9081, -0.7376
Explore more of the area around Singleton, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SINGLETON CHARLTON VILLAGE
34/161 Fox Hall
Probably designed by Lord Burlington. This little building was a hunting
lodge of the Duke of Richmond. It was built by the second Duke in 1730.
In 1731 he took over from the Duke of Bolton the ownership of the Charlton
Hunt, which throughout most of the eighteenth century was the most renowned
pack in England, even above those of the Shires. It remained so in the time
of the third Duke who employed George Stubbs to paint various versions of the
hunt. The hounds were sold by the fourth Duke to the Prince Regent in 1813.
The building is very plain on the outside and gives no hint of its character
or interior. Two storeys and attic in gable ends. One window facing West,
one window and 2 window-spaces facing South. Cemented front with long and
short quoins to the ground floor. Stringcourse. Slate roof. Glazing bars
intact. Ground floor window in heavy rusticated surround. First floor
window in moulded architrave surround with pediment over on consoles.
Chimney breast on the North wall. The interior of the ground floor room,
said to have been the butler's room, is quite plain, likewise the 2 small
bedrooms on the attic floor. But the first floor is a sort of piano nobile.
It is a grand Palladian room with gilded panelling, fine chimney-piece and
bed recess with a closet on either side of it. The Duke of Richmond used
to sleep the night before the meet here as the hunt always met at 8 am.
Photograph in "A Duke and his Friends" by the Earl of March (later the
seventh Duke of Richmond). Now in the care of the Landmark Trust.
Listing NGR: SU8887312828
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.