Description: The Former Stables and Service Wing of Stansted House
Date Listed: 5 June 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 301295
OS Grid Reference: SU7613210386
OS Grid Coordinates: 476132, 110386
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8880, -0.9190
Explore more of the area around Stoughton, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SU 71 SE
6/294A The former stables and
former service wing of
5.6.58 Stansted House
The stables were built by James Wyatt in 1786 and were rebuilt by Thomas
Hopper in 1840. They survived the fire of 1900. Two storeys. 7 windows.
White brick. The end window bays project and have long and short quoins
of Roman cement. Stringcourse, cornice and parapet with a pediment over
the central window bay. Windows in moulded architrave surrounds with
glazing bars intact. In the centre of the roof is a rather heavy tower of
complicated design. It consists of groups of 4 columns at the angles with
a recess between containing 2 columns, and a clock face above. Dentilled
cornice over and parapet surmounted by a stepped pyramid with a weather vane
over it. The building is flanked on each side by a carriage archway leading
to the stable yard. These are round-headed arches flanked by twin columns
with a cornice and parapet over. The yard is a long rectangular space be-
tween the stable building and the service wing of the house behind to the
east. This also dates from 1786 and is a two-storey building of white brick.
This originally had a tower similar to that on the stables, but this has
Listing NGR: SU7613210386
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.