Description: Itchenor Park Farm Cottages and the Farm Buildings Adjoining
Date Listed: 5 June 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 301492
OS Grid Reference: SU7972300818
OS Grid Coordinates: 479723, 100818
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8014, -0.8700
Explore more of the area around West Itchenor, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
WEST ITCHENOR ITCHENOR ROAD
SU 70 SE
15/675 Itchenor Park Farm Cottages
and the farm buildings
5.6.58 adjoining (formerly listed
as the stables to Itchenor
This building forms a courtyard which is not quite enclosed. It was a very
fine building but it has been much mutilated by the addition of unsightly
farm buildings. It was built by the third Duke of Richmond and was pos-
sibly designed by James Wyatt. The south side forms the farm cottages and
is dated 1782. Two storeys. Eight windows. Red brick and grey headers.
Modillion eaves cornice. Hipped slate roof. Casement windows. Stone car-
touche with the Richmond arms. The east, west and north sides are also of
red brick and grey headers with slate roof. Modillion eaves cornice and
slate roofs. They were originally stables, coach-house and riding school
and now farm buildings. 1783. Each has a central projection with pediment
over. The east and west sides have five round-headed arcades with the three
centre ones projecting slightly. The north one has only a deep central pro-
jection. The north, east and west sides are joined by continuing flanking
walls with eaves cornice and pediments. The courtyard has now been filled
in with ugly roofed modern farm buildings.
Listing NGR: SU7972300818
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.