The Parish Church of St Giles, Graffham
Description: The Parish Church of St Giles
Date Listed: 18 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 301782
OS Grid Reference: SU9286916756
OS Grid Coordinates: 492869, 116756
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9428, -0.6795
Location: Graffham, West Sussex GU28 0NP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Graffham, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SU 91 NW GRAFFHAM THE STREET
18/8 The Parish Church of
18.6.59 St Giles
Chancel with vestry to north and south chapel, nave with aisles and west tower
with broached shingled spire. The two westernmost arches of the nave arcade are
C12. The remainder of the church was rebuilt in 1875 in memory of Bishop Samuel
Wilberforce, Bishop of Winchester, who lived at Lavington Park in the adjoining
parish of East Lavington from 1845-73. Architect G E Street. The tower was added
in 1887. Bishop Wilberforce's brother-in-law, Archdeacon (afterwards Cardinal)
Henry Edward Manning was Rector of this parish jointly with East Lavington from
Listing NGR: SU9286916756
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.