Description: The Parish Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 18 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 301867
OS Grid Reference: SU7842019412
OS Grid Coordinates: 478420, 119412
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9688, -0.8845
Explore more of the area around Harting, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
SU 7819-7919 HARTING THE STREET
28/22 The Parish Church of
Parish Church. Circa 1300, late C16. Rubble with tiled roofs. Cruciform church
with north chapel to the chancel (and originally a south chapel which is now in
ruins), aisles to the nave and a north porch. The central tower has a broached
copper-covered spire. The whole church is about 1300 except the south chapel which
was added by the Cryll family as their mortuary chapel about 1610 but had fallen
into ruins by the C19, and the north porch which was added in 1938. The original
roof was destroyed by fire about 1576 and was rebuilt in the late C16.
Listing NGR: SU7841919414
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.