Description: Clayton Priory
Date Listed: 28 January 1971
English Heritage Building ID: 302429
OS Grid Reference: TQ3034617899
OS Grid Coordinates: 530346, 117899
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9458, -0.1459
Explore more of the area around Hassocks, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
CLAYTON LONDON ROAD
TQ 31 NW 20/48 28.1.71
Built about 1820 by John Podmore of Hammonds Place, Burgess Hill, which was then
called Clayton Priory. The new house was at first called New Priory. The architect
was possibly John Rebecca of Worthing. The house was later renamed Clayton Priory
when the old house became Hammonds Place. Two storeys. Faced with Roman cement.
The entrance front faces east. It originally had 5 windows, but the centre first floor
window has been replaced by a pair of windows. Cornice and parapet. Ionic pilasters
flank the front for the whole face of the building. Four central window-bays project
with a pediment over. The outer window-bays of this projection are slightly
recessed in arcading. Architrave over the 2 central first floor windows. Glazing
bars intact. Central semi-circular porch containing a doorway with side lights,
large semi-circular fanlight and door of 6 fielded and moulded panels. South front
has 5 windows. Low rectangular panel in centre of parapet. First floor windows have
Venetian shutters. Colonnade of Doric columns along the whole of the ground floor,
of which the centre projects slightly. Cornice and parapet over with scrolled
central pediment. Fine staircase of single flight dividing at half-landing. Hall
with curved doors arranged symmetrically at the angled. Good chimney pieces.
Listing NGR: TQ3034617899
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.