Description: Gravetye Manor
Date Listed: 28 October 1957
English Heritage Building ID: 302857
OS Grid Reference: TQ3617734017
OS Grid Coordinates: 536177, 134017
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0893, -0.0569
Explore more of the area around West Hoathly, West Sussex at Explore Britain.
WEST HOATHLY VOWELS LANE
TQ 33 SE 7/518 28/10/57
The property of the Forestry Commission and now occupied as a hotel and country
club. The original portion of the house was built in 1596 by Katherine Compton
and Richard Infield, an ironmaster. Two storeys and attic. Four windows.
Four gabled dormers with kneelers, coping and finials above the apex and kneelers.
Ashlar. Horsham slab roof. Casement windows with stone mullions and dripstones.
Gabled porch with similar finials. Similarly gable porch added about 1640 by
Henry Faalconer, husband of Agnes Infield, the daughter of Richard and Katherine
Infield. The west front has 2 gables. C17 fireplaces and panelling inside.
In 1885-7 a wing in matching style was added to the north-east by William Robinson,
the author of "The English Flower Garden". Architect, Sir Ernest George. This
has 5 windows, 2 large gables and 3 gabled dormers. William Robinson occupied the
house until his death in 1935 and made the garden one of the most famous gardens
Listing NGR: TQ3617734017
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.