Description: Church of St Milburga
Date Listed: 1 February 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 305138
OS Grid Reference: SP0900054940
OS Grid Coordinates: 409000, 254940
Latitude/Longitude: 52.1926, -1.8697
There is also a scheduled monument, Churchyard Cross in St Milburga's Churchyard, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Wixford, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
Church of St. Milburga
Church. C12 and C13. South chapel c.1400. Restored c.1881, timber porch and
bell turret probably of that date. Regular coursed lias with limestone
dressings and irregular quoins. Chapel has alternating thick and thin courses.
Old tile roofs, with some C20 tile to north, and C19 coped gables. Nave and
chancel in one, south chapel and porch, west turret. Medieval ribbed and
studded south door in corner between nave and chapel, set in Romanesque door-
way with simple arch and shafts with cushion capitals. Very simple Romanesque
north door, blocked. Nave has Early English lancets, one to south, 2 to west,
one to north-east. North side has two 2-light C19 Decorated windows. Single
west buttress. Turret with 2 Perpendicular traceried openings to each face.
Chancel has simple Decorated east window and a straight-headed 2-light
Decorated south window with hood mould, probably renewed. To the north one
lancet and a window of 2 tiny steep lancets with a shaft and head, cut from a
single block of yellow Campden stone, possibly C12 or earlier. Perpendicular
chapel with much restored 5-light east window, straight headed 2 and 3-light
windows and a small door to the south. Interior: boarded wagon roofs panelled
with thin ribs and carved bosses, and 2 decorative roof arches of thin
elaborate Gothic openwork to chancel, probably early C19. Chancel has
decorated piscina with plain canopy curving forward and nodding ogee arch
opening. Early C15 oak screens: lower part of chancel screen and part of side
screen to chapel survive and have moulded rail and muntins. C19 encaustic tile
floor. 2-bay Perpendicular arcade with octagonal piers to chapel. Chapel has
fragments of old stained glass re-set in windows. Piscina with embattled top.
Brass: chest tomb in centre of chapel with very fine brasses to Thomas de
Cruwe (died 1411) and his wife. Figures under ogee-headed canopies with
inscriptions, badges and coats of arms, all intact. Very finely detailed . Said
to be 'the finest brasses in the County' (Buildings of England). 2 small late
C16 memorial brasses. Nave has C19 font.
(V.C.H. Warwickshire III p.191; Buildings of England: Warwickshire pp. 475-476;
tlelly's Directory of Birmingham, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire
Listing NGR: SP0900054940
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.