Description: Church of St Mary and All Saints
Date Listed: 1 February 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 305436
OS Grid Reference: SP1238057892
OS Grid Coordinates: 412380, 257892
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2191, -1.8202
Explore more of the area around Haselor, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
7/86 Church of St. Mary and All
Church. C12 tower and south arcade; early C13 chancel; early C14 south aisle.
Upper part of tower dated 1622. North wall rebuilt and vault chamber added 1869.
Restored 1883 and 1892. Chancel of regular coursed lias; aisle and upper part of
tower of coursed lias rubble; upper part of tower has oolite dressings. Tile
roofs. Irregular nave and chancel, south aisle and chapel, south porch and west
tower. 3-bay nave, 2-bay chancel. Arched south doorway with chamfered jambs and
doorway. Double-leaf doors with decorative ironwork. Open porch said to be C19
(VCH). Lias ashiar and timber. Roof structure has re-used C15/C16 work, with
moulded tie beams and arched braces. Chancel has 2 east buttresses. C19
three-light Decorated east window. North wall has blocked doorway and late C12
two-bay arcade to demolished north chapel. Round pillar with simple capital. Two
2-centred arches of 2 chamfered orders; east respond has leaf capital. 2-light
window. South side has 2-light Decorated eastern window with trefoiled ogee
lights and quatrefoil, and hood mould. Trefoiled lancet in western corner.
Buttresses between chancel and nave. Nave has two C19 Decorated north windows.
Gabled vault chamber in centre of north side has diagonal buttresses. 3-light
window with elaborately crocketed ogee tracery, hood mould and head stops. South
aisle has diagonal buttresses and single south buttress. Blank east wall. 3 much
renewed C14 south windows of 2 trefoiled ogee lights; eastern window also has
quatrefoil. Hood moulds. C19 west lancet. Tower of 2 stages. Stones below
parapet on south side inscribed with names of churchwarden and workmen and dated
1622. Diagonal buttresses to west. C14 west window of 2 trefoiled ogee lights
and quatrefoil. Upper stage has plain round-arched bell openings. C19
crenellated parapet with string course. Interior: Chancel south-western lancet
has rere-arch. South transeptal arch has C13 half-round shafts with moulded
capitals, and C19 arch and east respond. Fine C15 roof with curved braces,
coupled rafters and central rib between collars. No chancel arch. Nave has
simple late C12 three-bay south arcade of square piers with chamfered angles and
imposts and single-chamfered 2 centred arches. North arch to vault chamber. Open
timber roof with C16 moulded tie beams, and braced collars with central rib.
Tower arch has plastered jambs and remains of C12 arch. Ceiling of C18 pew
panels. Aisle windows have rere-arches. Arched braced roof with collars and 4
tie beams, the easternmost moulded. Fittings: Font, probably C12, in aisle has
tapering cylindrical bowl and moulded base. Chancel has Jacobean panelling,
possibly from pews. Datestones below parapet on south side of tower are said to
be inscribed with the names of" Richard Skukar", Churchwarden and "Henrye Lane,
Henry Hemminge, William Vaughan and John Tompkins, Workemen".
(V.C.H.: Warwickshire, Vol.III. pp.113-114; Buildings of England: Warwickshire
Listing NGR: SP1238057892
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.