Description: Old Rectory Farmhouse and Attached Roman Catholic Chapel of Saint Peter and Saint Paul
Date Listed: 3 October 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 305791
OS Grid Reference: SP3168939289
OS Grid Coordinates: 431689, 239289
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0511, -1.5393
Explore more of the area around Brailes, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
BRAILES FRIAR'S LANE
SP3139 (East side)
15/28 Old Rectory Farmhouse and
03/10/66 attached R.C. Chapel of S.S.
Peter and Paul
(Formerly listed as The Old
House and chapel. Late C16/early C17 with earlier origins. C18 alterations. West
elevation: regular coursed ironstone rubble. Steeply pitched stone slate roof
laid to diminishing courses. 2 storeys plus attic. 3-window range. U-plan.
Entrance has plank door with wrought-iron strap hinges, moulded wood frame and
chamfered wood lintel. To left a 2-light casement with bars. To right a 2-light
casement with bars. First floor has a 16-pane sash, a 2-light stone-mullioned
window with diagonal lead cames and a 2-light wood-mullioned window with
rectangular lead cames and wood lintel. Attic has 4 fixed light windows with
stone surrounds. South front: early C18 red brick laid to Flemish bond. Steeply
pitched stone slate roof. Brick ridge and end stacks on stone bases. Stone
lateral stacks. 2 storeys. 3-window range. Central entrance has panelled door
with moulded wood door frame and hood. Doorway is flanked by 16-pane sashes with
brick flat arches. 3 similar windows to first floor. 2 gabled roof dormers.
Interior: 2 south facing rooms have stone flag floors, stop-chamfered or pointed
C16 moulded beams, C19 fireplaces with earlier fireplaces in situ. Room to north
has massive inglenook with cut bressumer and Victorian and Edwardian fireplaces
fronting earlier fireplace and showing successive additions. Kitchen has massive
inglenook with C18 beam fronting original bressumer, bread oven, Jacobean style
racks above fireplace. Cast-iron fittings including cooking pots and hooks and
spit racks. Oak settle. Stop-chamfered beam. Pantry. Stone flag floors. Hall to
rear of kitchen has C17 open well staircase with heavy turned balusters. 3 rooms
to north of hall not available for inspection. Roof said to be late medieval.
Rectory barn now R.C. chapel above brewhouse and dairy in ground floor. Chapel
dated 1726. Ironstone ashlar. Steeply pitched Welsh slate roof. 2 storeys.
6-window range. Plank door to left has moulded wood frame and wood lintel. Three
2-light windows with astragals and wood lintels. 6 wood mullioned and transomed
windows to first floor have late C19/early C20 stained glass. Two C20 skylights.
Rear: covered external stone staircase to chapel. 4 wood mullioned and transomed
windows with stop-chamfered lintels to chapel. Interior: ground floor has 3-bay
brewhouse/malthouse to left with recesses for coppers and wide fireplace with
massive bressumer. Timber-frame partition with lathe and plaster to right and
side passage to 5 small rooms used as dairy and wine cellar. The 2 end rooms
have wire mesh windows and stone flag floors and wide shelves. Room third from
right has plank door with strap hinges and was probably a wine cellar.
Stop-chamfered beams. The passage wall has moulded stone plinths. First floor
chapel with confessional, sacristy and priest's study. Early C18 details include
wood panelling, oak altar rails, ceiling cornices, 6-panelled doors and wooden
window shutters. Three early C18 pine pews with drawers. Other pews C19.
Priest's study has one wall with C18 hand painted wall paper and C18
bookshelves. The chapel is attached to the Old Rectory Farmhouse. William
Bishop, the first R.C. Bishop, lived here.
(Buildings of England: Warwickshire, 1981, p.218; V.C.H.: Warwickshire, 1949,
Listing NGR: SP3168939289
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.