Description: The Cottage
Date Listed: 15 March 1983
English Heritage Building ID: 306998
OS Grid Reference: SP3898958050
OS Grid Coordinates: 438989, 258050
Latitude/Longitude: 52.2193, -1.4307
Explore more of the area around Bishop's Itchington, Warwickshire at Explore Britain.
BISHOPS ITCHINGTON STATION ROAD
SP35NE (East side)
House. 1888 and 1900 by C.F.A. Voysey, for M.H. Lakin. Roughcast brick. Concrete
tile hipped roof has gables to rear and curved iron gutter brackets throughout;
roughcast ridge stacks. U-plan, with wings to rear. Arts and Crafts style. 2
storeys; 6-window range. Garden front, originally entrance front has porch with
battered walls and leaded lights, but no door. Leaded glazed door inside. Plain
leaded painted wood mullioned windows throughout, some with tile and roughcast
drip moulds. Ground floor has 5- and 3-light windows, recessed between
buttresses. Large 7-light hall window to left of porch, and smaller, 6-, 2- and
3-light windows to right have transoms. 4 shallow hipped half-dormers breaking
just above eaves have large 3-light windows. 2 small 2-light windows on right.
Low 3-bay loggia attached at right angles on right. Left return side altered and
enlarged as entrance front 1900. Four-window range. Large low projection on
right has 11-light window and hipped roof. Half-glazed door in angle, of 2 x 3
panels, with adjoining single light linked to 4-light window. Large 4-light
window on left. First floor has 2 more 3-light half-dormers on left, and small
4- and 3-light windows. Right return side is an irregular 4-window range. To
rear: central bay window of 5 x 2 lights projects from gallery with lean-to
roof. 5 and 3-light windows to left. Gabled projection in right angle, adjoining
bay window, has 3-light window. 3-sided bay window with steep roof in angle
between projection and right wing. Small 4-light window above. Left wing has
3-light first floor window. Right return side has half-glazed door, 3-light
window, and 2 first-floor lights. Right wing has single ground floor window.
Interior: entrance hall, formerly gallery, has straight flight staircase with
stick balusters and moulded handrail. Brick paved floor. Window has small panels
of painted glass, of ships and horsemen respectively, possibly C17 Flemish. Room
to right has simple fireplace with moulded shelf and curved lining of thin
bricks laid on end. Former hall has plain ceiling beams Open fireplace has
moulded shelf. Fireplace of brick and edge-laid tiles has arched openings. Wide
plank and batten doors with strap hinges. Scrolled twisted rod window catches.
Cupboards have heart-shaped escutcheons. The Cottage is Voysey's first completed
(Buildings of England: Warwickshire, p.214; J. Brandon-Jones et al: C.F.A.
Voysey; architect and designer pp.33 and 38).
Listing NGR: SP3898958050
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.